slide 1

opens December 1!

Editorial Board

GI_Forum publishes high quality original research across the transdisciplinary field of Geographic Information Science (GIScience). The journal provides a platform for dialogue among GI-Scientists and educators, technologists and critical thinkers in an ongoing effort to advance the field and ultimately contribute to the creation of an informed GISociety. Submissions concentrate on innovation in education, science, methodology and technologies in the spatial domain and their role towards a more just, ethical and sustainable science and society.

The GI_Forum 2015 programme committee contributed to and shared their expertise with the GI_Forum team in the areas of GIScience especially focusing on innovations in technology, science and education in the spatial domain. Quality assurance of the GI_Forum programme and the journal publication relies to a great extent on the willingness of these committee members to allocate their time for assessing submitted contributions and providing valuable comments for good quality publications.


Adrijana Car, Carinthia University of Applied Sciences (FH Kärnten),  Z_GIS - Department for Geoinformatics, University of Salzburg
Thomas Jekel, University of Salzburg
Josef Strobl, University of Salzburg
Gerald Griesebner, University of Salzburg

Editorial Board

Josef Strobl, ÖAW – Commission for GI-Science
Hans Sünkel, ÖAW – Commission for GI-Science
Karlheinz Erb, ÖAW – Commission for GI-Science
Georg Gartner, ÖAW – Commission for GI-Science
Francis Harvey, Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography
Diana Sinton, University Consortium for Geographic Information Science (UCGIS)

Editorial Staff

Gerald Griesebner, University of Salzburg
Mary Rigby, English-language editor

Review Commitee

  • Josef Strobl, Conference Chair
  • Adrijana Car, Programme Chair
  • Gerald Griesebner, Technical Editor
  • Thomas Jekel, Programme Chair
  • Richard Armitage, University of Salford
  • Heba Aziz, German University of Technology, Oman
  • Rod Bantjes, St. Francis Xavier University
  • Matthew Battles, metaLAB, Harvard University
  • Euro Beinat, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Mariana Belgiu, University of Twente
  • Lars Bernard, University of Technology Dresden
  • Marion Borderon, Department of Geography and Regional Research, University of Vienna
  • Carmen Brando, SIG GeoHumanities, Alliacne of Digital Humanities Organisations
  • Johannes Brauner, University of Technology Dresden
  • Gregory Breetzke, University of Pretoria, Department of Geography, Geoinformatics, and Meterology
  • Chris Brunsdon, University of Liverpool
  • George Cho, University of Canberra
  • Alexis Comber, School of Geography, University of Leeds
  • Elmar Csaplovics, University of Technology Dresden
  • A.R. Dasgupta, Geospatial Media and Communication
  • Curdin Derungs, University of Zurich
  • Karl Donert, EUROGEO
  • Lucian Dragut, West University of Timisoara, Department of Geography
  • Tilo Felgenhauer, University of Jena
  • Jennifer Fu, Florida International University
  • Frank Gossette, California State University, Long Beach (CSULB)
  • Karl Grossner, University of Pittsburgh
  • Inga Gryl, University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Piraye Haciguzeller, Ghent University
  • Michael Hagenlocher, UNU-EHS
  • Muki Haklay, University College London
  • Kathy Hart Weimer, Rice University - Fondren Library
  • Francis Harvey, Leibniz-Institut für Länderkunde
  • Sabine Hennig, University of Salzburg
  • Michael E. Hodgson, University of South Carolina
  • Barbara Hofer, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Goesta Hoffman, University of Bonn, Steinmann Institute
  • Peter Hofmann, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Claire Jarvis, University of Leicester
  • Edda Kalbus, Research, Investigations and Monitoring Unit (RIMU), Auckland Council
  • Joseph Kerski, Education Manager, Esri, USA
  • Stefan Kienberger, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Hermann Klug, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Alfons Koller, PH-Linz
  • Jacek Kozak, Jagiellonian University Kraków
  • Olaf Kranz, British Embassy Berlin
  • Stefan Lang, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Michael Leitner, Lousiana State University
  • Martin Loidl, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Peter Mandl, Alps Adria University, Klagenfurt
  • Bela Markus, University of West Hungary
  • Stephan Mäs, Dresden University of Technology
  • Damir Medak, University of Zagreb
  • Graciela Metternicht, University of New South Wales, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Jan-Peter Mund, Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development
  • Mariyana Nikolova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
  • Katarzyna Ostapowicz, Jagiellonian University, Institute of Geography and Spatial Management
  • Marco Painho, New University of Lisbon
  • Alenka Poplin, Iowa State University, Department of Community and Regional Planning
  • Jana Pokraka, University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Wolfgang Reinhardt, Bundeswehr University Munich
  • Bernd Resch, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Jüri Roosaare, University of Tartu
  • Eric Sanchez, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon
  • Johannes Scholz, University of Technology Graz, Institute of Geodesy
  • Rainer Simon, Austrian Institute of Technology
  • Ingo Simonis, Open Geospatial Consortium, OGC
  • Alexander Simonov, Russian State Research Institute on Information Technologies and Telecommunications
  • Petra Staufer-Steinnocher, University of Economics and Business Administration Vienna
  • Dirk Tiede, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Christoph Traun, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Robert Vogler, University of Salzburg, Department of Geography and Geology
  • Gudrun Wallentin, University of Salzburg, Department of Geoinformatics - Z_GIS
  • Eveline Wandl-Vogt, Austrian Center for Digital Humanities, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Steven Ward, The Climate Corporation
  • Peter Zeil, Spatial Services Ltd.

Team GI_Forum

About Us





Hellbrunnerstr. 34 | 5020 Salzburg | Austria
47°47´21.5´´N | 13°3´35.9´´E


Subscribe to our newsletter!